Fair Housing

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

What is fair housing?

Fair housing, or fair housing choice, refers to the rights of residents (under the Fair Housing Act, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968) to pursue housing without discrimination.

What constitutes housing discrimination?

Federal and state laws prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, race, color, religion, national origin, marital status, familial status (presence of children), age, or physical disability. If a housing provider discriminates against someone based on any of these factors, that person has the right to seek help. For example, a housing provider who refuses to rent or sell a home to a person because of her race has committed housing discrimination. Other forms of discrimination occur when a housing provider offers unequal lease terms, quotes different rental or home prices, or applies different policies to a prospective tenant or buyer, because of the person's race national origin, familial status, etc.

However, a landlord does have the right to deny housing to a person based on his income, credit rating, or other information that is related to a person's ability and willingness to pay rent.

What is the City doing to promote Fair Housing Choice?

As part of its responsibilities and commitment to promote fair housing choice, the City is transitioning so that it can more directly service the fair-housing related needs of its residents, including the furthering of its fair housing education efforts and response services. The promotion of fair housing choice helps to further the City's Growing Strong Neighborhoods Initiative, which strives to improve the quality of life in Rancho Cordova. Through its heightened efforts, the City hopes that it can make more people aware of potential housing discrimination, and that they can do something about it.

What should you do if you feel you've been discriminated against?

If you feel you have experienced housing discrimination because of race, color, religion, sexual orientation, national origin, marital status, disability, or familial status, you may contact Sacramento Self Help Housing at (916) 341-0593, and they will assist you in filing fair housing complaints and provide guidance in filing with the correct agency. You may also contact Sacramento Self Help Housing for tenant-landlord mediation or resolution services.

You may also contact:

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
(800) 347-3739
HUD Contact Information
Housing Discrimination Complaints

California Department of Fair Employment and Housing
(800) 884-1684
(800) 700-2320 [TTY]

Legal Services of Northern California, Sacramento Office (serving Sacramento County)
515 12th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 551-2150
Fax (530) 551-2196

California Department of Consumer Affairs
(800) 952-5210 or (916) 445-0660
Handbook: California Tenants - A Guide to Residential Tenants' and Landlords' Rights and Responsibilities

Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

The City, as a direct recipient of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), is required to complete an "Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice." The analysis identifies impediments, or barriers, present in the City that may be preventing individuals from having adequate access to fair housing choices. You may view the analysis here.

The City must also certify that it will affirmatively further fair housing in its community, specifically requiring that the grantee undertake fair housing planning through: 1) the completion of an Analysis of Impediments (AI) to Fair Housing Choice in the community; 2) the undertaking of actions to eliminate identified impediments; and 3) the maintenance of records regarding the analysis of actions.

Through its community development programs, HUD seeks to further its goal of increasing equal and free access to residential housing in order to achieve equality of opportunity for all persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, or familial status.