All businesses operating from a fixed location in the City of Rancho Cordova must have a Business License.
How to Apply For or Renew A Business License
Apply for, renew and pay for your Business License online through Rancho Cordova Online! Click here to get started.
You may also continue to submit your Business License in person using the following forms:
- Business License Information (PDF)
- Business License Change Form (PDF)
- Commercial Business License Application (PDF)
- Home Based Business License Application (PDF)
- Employee Permit Application (PDF)
- Home Based Restrictions (PDF)
- Rental Property License Application (PDF)
- State Law SB 1186 Disability Access Information (PDF)
Following are fees for business licenses.
|LICENSE||FEE (1ST APPLICATION)||RENEWAL FEE|
|General Business License||$103||$103|
|General Business License with Tobacco||$321||$321|
|Home-Based Business License||$103||$103|
|Out of Area Contractor License||$103||$103|
|Special Business License||$318, includes $32 background check||$286|
|Rental Property License||$85, plus $10 per door housing stock fee||$85, plus $10 per door housing stock fee|
|Employee Permit||$213, includes $32 background check||$181|
|Fireworks Stand License||$40||N/A|
*On October 11, 2017, Governor Brown amended law SB 1186, which adds a state fee of $4 on any applicant for a local business license or similar instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The purpose is to increase disability access and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.
Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
The Division of the State Architect
The Department of Rehabilitation
The California Commission on Disability Access
How often must a Business License be renewed?
Yearly. Late fees are assessed for overdue payments.
Are some businesses exempt from having to obtain a Business License?
In general, financial institutions (but not check cashing businesses), churches, libraries and agriculture are exempt. Contact us at 916.851.8737 or BusinessLicense@cityofranchocordova.org to confirm.
Do home-based businesses require a Business License?
Yes. There may be some restrictions on businesses in residential areas, related to traffic and other concerns. For this reason, licensing is required.
Are there additional requirements?
Depending on your business, additional permits may be required by the county and the state. These include:
County of Sacramento
- Fictitious Business Name
- Health Permits
- Personal Property Tax for Business
- Air Quality Permits
State of California
- Alcohol Beverage License
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- Resale/Sellers Permit
- Employee Withholding and Regulations
- Department of Consumer Affairs (state licensing for certain businesses and professions
If you have any questions, contact us at 916.851.8737 or BusinessLicense@cityofranchocordova.org Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM.